Preclinical Models Core

Objective: 

The objective of the Preclinical Models Core (PMC) of the Kansas Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Center (KIDDRC) is to provide integrated core facilities and services that optimally facilitate creation and analysis of cellular and organismal models of IDD.

Services:

·     Production of novel transgenic and gene targeted rodents and pluripotent stem cells.

·     Rodent surgical services.

·     Behavioral characterization of rodent models, including sensory, motor and cognitive performance.

·     Metabolic screening of rodent models.

·     ELISA analysis of rodent or human samples.

·     Histological preparation of tissue samples.

·     Imaging and immunohistochemistry of samples including light and confocal microscopy.

·     Genome sequencing and microarray analysis.

·     Graphics and illustration support including large format posters and 3D rendering.

 

 

Kenneth McCarson

913-588-7519

kmccarso@kumc.edu

Director

Diane Durham

913-588-6701

ddurham@kumc.edu

Co-Director

Jay Vivian

913-588-0341

jvivian@kumc.edu

Co-Director

Michelle Winter

913-588-5958

mwinter2@kumc.edu

Core Manager

Melissa Larson

913-588-1005

mlarson@kumc.edu

Transgenic Facility Supervisor

Julia Draper

913-588-7113

jdraper@kumc.edu

Stem Cell Specialist

Illya Bronshteyn

913-588-7113

ibronsht@kumc.edu

Transgenic Specialist

Linda Eggimann

913-588-5356

leggimann@kumc.edu

Rodent Behavior Specialist

Sarah Tague

913-588-599

stage@kumc.edu

Imaging and Histology Facility Supervisor

Jing Huang

jhuang@kumc.edu

Histology Specialist

Phil Shafer

913-588-5998

pshafer@kumc.edu

Graphics and Illustration Specialist

Clark Bloomer

913-588-7127

cbloomer@kumc.edu

Genomics Facility Supervisor

Rosanne Skinner

913-588-6927

rskinner@kumc.edu

Genomics Specialist

Yafen Niu

913-588-5964

yniu@kumc.edu

Genomics Specialist


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today